1997 California State Science Fair
Teachers of the Year

Every student who participates in the California State Science Fair is eligible to nominate his or her advisor for this award, which is given to teachers nominated by students in both divisions. The awards panel consists of representatives from the California Science Teachers Association, the California Museum of Science and Industry, and the Advisory Board of the California Museum Foundation. The decision is based first upon student nominations, and second upon interviews with the award panel during the judging of science fair projects. This year's winners were:

Junior Division

Nancy Bernstein
Dodson Middle School
Rancho Palos Verdes, Los Angeles County

Senior Division

Elaine Preston
La Quinta High School
La Quinta, Riverside County

[photo of winning teachers] Nancy Bernstein (left)
and Elaine Preston
with presenter
Bill Taylor

California State Science Fair / 1997 / Teachers of the Year / CalifSF@usc.edu