Broadcom MASTERS Award Winners — 2015 California State Science Fair

[CSSF stripe]

The California State Science Fair is proud to announce that California participants in the 2015 Broadcom MASTERS Competition performed exceptionally well. Most prominently, a California participant took home the second highest award in the competition.

Californians received 4 of the top 12 awards in the competition. In addition, one other Californian was a member of the team rated highest in the competition. Here is the complete list of those awards:

Mellen, Sebastian L. Mt. Everest Academy San Diego Marconi/ Samueli Award for Innovation
Cevasco, Hannah O. St. Charles School San Carlos STEM Award in Science - Second Place
Bhimaraju, Manasa H. Kennedy (John F.) Middle School Cupertino STEM Award in Technology - First Place
Singhani, Anish Diablo Vista Middle School Danville Rising Stars Award and Team Award
Menezes, Naya K. Marshall (Thurgood) Middle School San Diego Team Award

The First and Second Place STEM Awards carry cash prizes of $3,500 and $2,500 respectively to support the recipient's choice of STEM summer camp experience, as well as an iPad. The Rising Stars Award includes a trip to Intel ISEF 2016 in Phoenix. During the week of the competition, all finalists participated on one of six teams working together to solve problems with shared decision making, communication, and scientific and engineering collaboration. The members of the winning team from California, Florida, North Carolina, and Texas each received an iPod nano.

We are also proud to note that California had the greatest number of award winners of any state in the country. Congratulations to all!

See the press release announcing all awards as well as our earlier list of CSSF participants who were named as finalists in this year’s Broadcom MASTERS.

[CSSF stripe]
2015 California State Science Fair / Broadcom MASTERS Awards / Wed Oct 07 16:17:08 PDT 2015 /